Setting up my Solaris fileserver (Part 2)

To enable mirroring on my two HDDs I tried to follow the steps described at http://darkstar-solaris.blogspot.com/2008/09/zfs-root-mirror.html and http://malsserver.blogspot.com/2008/08/mirroring-resolved-correct-way.html but got a little confused by the different device names.

What I needed to do is copy the partition table from the first drive to the second one and then I could attach it to the rpool. The following steps I did as a root user.

# zpool status

 pool: rpool
 state: ONLINE
 scrub: none requested
config:

 NAME        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
 rpool       ONLINE       0     0     0
   c8d0s0    ONLINE       0     0     0

errors: No known data errors

Meaning: my first disk is c8d0s0 and it is attached directly to the rpool.

# format

Searching for disks...done

AVAILABLE DISK SELECTIONS:
 0. c8d0 <DEFAULT cyl 19454 alt 2 hd 255 sec 63>
 /pci@0,0/pci-ide@9/ide@0/cmdk@0,0
 1. c8d1 <DEFAULT cyl 19454 alt 2 hd 255 sec 63>
 /pci@0,0/pci-ide@9/ide@0/cmdk@1,0

So my second drives name is c8d1. I chose option (1) and used the fdisk command to create a solaris2 partition. Then I quit the format command.

To copy the partition table from the first drive to the second one I used:

# prtvtoc /dev/rdsk/c8d0s2|fmthard -s - /dev/rdsk/c8d1s2

Then I could force attach the second drive to the rpool:

# zpool attach rpool c8d0s0 c8d1s0
invalid vdev specification
use '-f' to override the following errors:
/dev/dsk/c8d1s0 overlaps with /dev/dsk/c8d1s2

# zpool attach -f rpool c8d0s0 c8d1s0
Please be sure to invoke installgrub(1M) to make 'c8d1s0' bootable.

# zpool status
 pool: rpool
 state: ONLINE
 scrub: resilver completed after 0h2m with 0 errors on Mon Jul 13 10:16:55 2009
config:

 NAME        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
 rpool       ONLINE       0     0     0
   mirror    ONLINE       0     0     0
     c8d0s0  ONLINE       0     0     0
     c8d1s0  ONLINE       0     0     0  4,18G resilvered

errors: No known data errors

To make the second drive also bootable I invoked installgrub

# installgrub /boot/grub/stage1 /boot/grub/stage2 /dev/rdsk/c8d1s0
stage1 written to partition 0 sector 0 (abs 16065)
stage2 written to partition 0, 271 sectors starting at 50 (abs 16115)

The next task will be to install the four different 1 TB HDDs I also bought into that Chenbro case and create a zpool for them.

4 thoughts on “Setting up my Solaris fileserver (Part 2)

    • Hi Frank,
      unfortunately the description about the Chenbro case was not very useful. It was a “Chenbro SR107 HD Backplane SATA II”, but those only fit in Chenbro barebones, so I had to return them. Instead I used 4 Icy Dock screwless internal 3.5″ SATA HDD Enclosures (MB671SK).

  1. Pingback: Setting up an OpenSolaris root server at Hetzner « Agile Developer, Berlin, Germany

Leave a Reply

